New Blog! Premier Post!

Hello.  My inaugural post.

A quick intro: I am a stay-at-home-mum with two kids and a patient husband living on a 1/3 acre lot in suburban Charlotte, NC.  We’ve been here around 8 years now and I love our little piece of paradise.  When we bought the house the gardens were established but very generic and had not been particularly well tended.  Once the madness of moving had died down I quickly found myself looking for a little plot of sunshine to grow a few summer herbs, something I’d not been able to do in our dark condo in Cleveland from where we’d just moved.  I remember the basil that year grew to enormous proportions, a shocking size! and I remember being overrun with pesto and caprese salad trying to use it all up.  High class problems, I’ll admit.  But I had caught the bug.

Turns out that I love to garden!  To grow my own foods, to harvest and cook with produce that comes straight from my own garden is not only cool but very very satisfying.  And educational for the kids … of course.  We harvest quite a bounty from our little herb and vege gardens and are starting to see results from the fruit trees we’ve squeezed in here and there.  Most exciting this year are our two pet chickens that lay us beautiful fresh eggs each morning.  Naturally, we have run in to our fair share of problems but with research we’ve found workable solutions to most.

Certainly, our foray in to urban homesteading has not been as frightening or scary as one might imagine.  And it has been so much fun!  Recently, my thoughts have turned to others who might be thinking of planting a few herbs of their own, who might appreciate some encouragement and perhaps some hints and tips I’ve picked up along the way.  And let’s face it.  I’m always in the market for new ideas and best practice advice from the interwebz!  So I thought to start a blog.  We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

