Thinning the Herd

Do you have trouble pulling out plants that haven’t exactly died but aren’t really living up to their expectations either?  The ones that just struggle and struggle, are plain grumpy and don’t do what they’re supposed to?  I do.  I know they either have to be moved or they have to go to the big garden in the sky but it is always so hard for me to make the call (what is that about???)  Take these winter daphne for example.  I have two of them, one of each side of our front walk.  Here they sulk 😦

image image

Awful, aren’t they?  They are supposed to be blooming and amazing right now and just look at them.  Hurumph!  They’ve been in the ground in this site for 5 or 6 years and they just have never done well.  They bloom a little … but not much.

image

image

They’ve grown a little … but not much.  They’re one of the first things people see when they walk up my front walk and they are thoroughly disappointing.  I’ve been looking at these things sideways for the last year or two thinking they had to go but … like I say, I have trouble pulling the plug.  I paid good money for these things, you know?  Maybe if I give them another year … Maybe a little more TLC …

This year I finally did it.  I ripped those ugly things up and tossed them away.  I don’t have another good spot for them and truly, I have so few sunny spots in my garden that plants need to earn their place and these things just weren’t cutting it!  I have to tell you, it was kinda cathartic.  Out with the old, in with the new.

My neighbour across the road has the most spectacular Endless Summer hydrangeas along his front walk which is really what I long for but I just don’t have the space here for something that wants to grow 5′ tall.  Booo.  I took a trip to my favourite garden center and came upon Mini Penny French hydrangeas that I thought might work instead.

Mini Penny Hydrangea Source: hydrangea.com

Mini Penny Hydrangea Source: hydrangea.com

So gorgeous, right?  They grow to between 3 and 4 feet tall so small enough for the space and I think there is enough sun/shade mix to keep them happy.  I have drip irrigation set up so they’ll have plenty of water which is the main challenge with hydrangeas … I thought to give it a go.

So here they are on planting day.  They aren’t much to look at, I’ll admit, but my hope is that they will be happy here and come the summer they will be gorgeous.  And let’s face it.  If they’ve not gorgeous then they’ll have to go the same way as my tragic winter daphne – Muwahahaaaa!

image

Newly planted Mini Penny Hydrangea.  Grow, baby, grow!

Newly planted Mini Penny Hydrangea. Grow, baby, grow!

How do you handle plants that aren’t doing as they are told?  Are you ruthless and rip them right out or do you struggle?  Perhaps there is a 12 step program for me.  Clearly, I need help (sigh).

2 thoughts on “Thinning the Herd

  1. “I have so few sunny spots in my garden that plants need to earn their place and these things just weren’t cutting it!” Amen Sister rip those plants out. Hydrangeas are lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: I (heart) My Garden | Greens, Eggs and Cans

Leave a Reply

