Who’s Been Eating My Garden?!

I’m not happy.

I feel like the Three Bears who come home to find their house trashed and their porridge eaten.  ‘Someone’ has been munching on my garden and I’m not happy about it.  Normally I’m quite philosophical about sharing nature’s bounty with all creatures great and small but this time I say enough!

Just yesterday I was admiring my variegated hydrangea, noting its lush, bushy foliage and its obvious verdant health.  And then this morning I woke up to this:

image

image    image

Carnage and devastation.  All that lush foliage eaten down to sticks and nubbies.  Grrrrr.

And then I found my okra.  The same okra I had been admiring just yesterday for its lush, verdant foliage and cute baby okras it is starting to grow.  Which now looks like this:

image

More carnage and nubbies.  Grrrr.

My raspberries have fared no better …

image

… nor my peppers or tomatoes, although I suspect a two legged predator may have ‘harvested’ the later.  Grrrrrr.

And then, to add insult to injury, wanna see what I found in the mulch?

image

Hoof prints!  Grrrrrr.

Clearly I need better deer defences.

Last year I used these deer repellent stakes with much success and so I put them in again this year.  

This year they are not working.  Grrrrr.

I’m not happy.

How do you keep the deer away?  Short of filling them with lead I’m open to just about anything.

Grrrrr again.

And sigh.

9 thoughts on “Who’s Been Eating My Garden?!

  1. Ugh, how frustrating! I’m so sorry to hear about this vulgar attack on your plants! Being an urban farmer, I have so much less to deal with in the form of pests and nocturnal intruders. Can you run a single line of electrified wire around your perimeter? Or build a scare-deer? Bear urine? Not sure where you’ll get that last one…

    Let me know what you come up with because now I’m emotionally invested!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I know they are just trying to make a living and generally it isn’t all that bad but I think the unusually hot weather has limited their usual food sources which has got them foraging in my hydrangeas early this year. Grrrr.

      Like

  2. I didn’t know you had deer! I have the same problem, although different country and different pest (possums for us). I’m quite taken with the suggestion of bear urine… although I suspect it will be difficult to source here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

